Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Total Bravery by Piper J. Drake [Review]

 Total Bravery by Piper J. Drake
Total Bravery (True Heroes #4) by Piper J. Drake
Format: ebook
Source: provided through Netgalley
Date read: April 2, 2018

True Heroes
1. Extreme Honor
2. Ultimate Courage
3. Absolute Trust
3.5. Winter Valor
4. Total Bravery - Paperback | Kindle

Piper J. Drake
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
True heroes will do anything to protect the women they love...

As the newest recruit at Search and Protect, Raul has a lot to prove. Luckily, he's got the best friend and partner a man could ask for: a highly trained, fiercely loyal German Shepherd Dog named Taz. Together, Raul and Taz make an unbeatable team. But their first mission in Hawaii really puts them to the test when an international kidnapping ring sets its sights on the bravest woman Raul's ever met . . .

Mali knows her latest job has put one hell of a target on her back. And on this small island paradise, there's nowhere to hide. With a service dog like Taz, Mali feels safe. Sharing close quarters with a smoldering muscle-for-hire like Raul, she feels something else - an unexpected wave of desire. Raul feels it too. But when the kidnappers make their move, he's got to turn that slow-burning passion into hard-hitting action - and save the life of the woman he loves.
Thoughts on Total Bravery: Danger in paradise, the best friend's little sister, and a couple of smart, well-trained dogs. YES, I'm still loving this series. (Seriously, the best friend's little sister thing works for me. Especially since Raul is both a gentleman about their attraction and completely set on letting things happen despite big sister's disapproval. Because, you know, Mali isn't a child and can make her own choices despite what her sister thinks.)

But let's get back to the danger. Given the job she's working on, Mali intellectually understands that she could be in danger. It isn't until things go south on her and her group that she really understands what danger is. Fortunately for her, she has someone to turn to when things get rough. That someone might not be the person she initially sought out, but Raul turns out to be the best person for the job. (I'm simplifying here. It's Raul and the team and Mali's sister, but you get the point.)

We've got the danger. We have some simmering attraction. We have a sister who has to come to grips with the fact Mali isn't a kid anymore. We have family dynamics and a man who's trying to find his place in things now that he's not in the military anymore. And the dogs. The smart, capable dogs who will protect their charges and do what needs to be done to get their partner out of danger.

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Midnight Wolf by Jennifer Ashley [Review]

 Midnight Wolf by Jennifer Ashley
Midnight Wolf (Shifters Unbound #11) by Jennifer Ashley
Format: ebook
Source: provided through Netgalley for review
Date read: March 23, 2018

Shifters Unbound
0.5. Shifters Made
1. Pride Mates
2. Primal Bonds
2.5. Bodyguard
3. Wild Cat
3.5. Hard Mated
4. Mate Claimed
4.5. Perfect Mate
4.6. Lone Wolf
5. Tiger Magic
5.5. Feral Heat
6. Wild Wolf
6.5. Bear Attraction
7. Mate Bond
7.25. Lion Eyes
7.5. Bad Wolf
7.75. Wild Things
8. White Tiger
9. Guardian's Mate
10. Red Wolf
11. Midnight WolfPaperback | Kindle
12. Tiger Striped

Jennifer Ashley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Angus Murray, bouncer for a New Orleans Shifter bar, is sent to round up an elusive, Collar-less Shifter woman, Tamsin Calloway, who is causing trouble for Shifter Bureau, and possesses information they want. If Angus refuses, he risks losing his cub. He finds Tamsin but she's slippery and not about to be rounded up quietly.

In fact, quiet is nothing Tamsin will ever be. She leads Angus on a wild chase, but he's determined to bring her in to save his son.

Can Tamsin convince Angus she's worth helping before she's locked away by Shifter Bureau, Collared, or perhaps killed?
Thoughts on Midnight Wolf: Big, quiet shifters with hearts of gold are my thang, man. I like 'em. I like watching them let people in. Especially that special someone. Angus certainly fits the big, silent part of the equation. Whereas Tamsin is neither big nor quiet.

But she fits with him. Actually, she fits with both him and his son. The fact that she has a connection to Angus's family complicates things. Because EVERYONE seems to want to know what she knows and that makes her a dangerous person to be around.

(Although, she also has a few skills that make her dangerous to be around without the rest of the stuff being thrown in. Wait. Dangerous might be the wrong word. Let's juts say she's not like other shifters and leave it at that.)

We got shifter politics, shifter lovin', and face time with some old favorites. Good times, man. Good times.

Monday, April 23, 2018

The Studying Hours by Sara Ney [Review]

 The Studying Hours by Sara Ney
The Studying Hours (How to Date a Douchebag #1) by Sara Ney
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 4, 2017

How to Date a Douchebag
1. The Studying HoursPaperback | Kindle
2. The Failing Hours
3. The Learning Hours

Sara Ney
Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
CRUDE. ARROGANT. A**HOLE.
No doubt about it, Sebastian ‘Oz’ Osborne is the university’s most celebrated student athlete—and possibly the biggest douchebag. A walking, talking cliché, he has a filthy mouth, a fantastic body, and doesn’t give a sh*t about what you or anyone else thinks.

SMART. CLASSY. CONSERVATIVE.
Make no mistake, Jameson Clarke may be the university’s most diligent student—but she is no prude. Spending most of her time in the hallowed halls of the library, James is wary of pervs, jocks, and douchebags—and Oz Osborne is all three.

She’s smart, sarcastic—and not what he expected.

…EVERY DOUCHBAG HAS HIS WEAKNESS.

He wants to be friends.
He wants to spend time with her.
He wants to drive her crazy.

He wants…

Her.
Thoughts on The Studying Hours: OHMYGOD. Oz and his pervy thoughts were FANTASTIC. James was a great foil to his filth. She might look buttoned up and repressed, but she can hold her own against him. Her quick comebacks had me cackling with delight.

I love when a lady can hold her own against cocky. *thumbs up all around*

I also love when a guy's subconscious knocks him on his butt time and time again until he faces up to what's bothering him and goes for broke.

Sexy, witty, and downright FUN. James and Oz poking at each other over all manner of things will DEFINITELY be a go-to read when I'm having a rough day. Because I really can't get enough of a big, strong guy being brought to his knees by a tank top.

By the by, I read this series out of order and I LOVED seeing the unrepentant douchbaggery of Zeke before he learns to tone it down. That guy. THAT GUY.

Man, I want more of this series.

Sunday, April 22, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (04/22/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Today's the final day to submit challenge ideas for Bout of Books 22. IT'S COMING!

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Write On Review-a-thon [51]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, April 27th to Sunday, April 29th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}

Friday, April 20, 2018

Lonesome Paladin by S.M. Reine [Review]

 Lonesome Paladin by S.M. Reine
Lonesome Paladin (A Fistful of Daggers #1) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: April 13, 2018

A Fistful of Daggers
1. Lonesome Paladin - Kindle
2. Spellsmoke

S.M. Reine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
God is dead. Lincoln Marshall knows who killed Him...

It's been a month since apocalypse destroyed the world as Lincoln Marshall once knew it. The new world is populated by deadly faeries, wild shapeshifters, and humans without a god. Lincoln's sins can never be absolved now that God is dead. There's nothing left for him but the bottom of a whiskey bottle.

Until Cesar Hawke comes seeking help. The undersecretary of the new Office of Preternatural Affairs has manifested uncontrollable magical powers. The only cure lies beyond the frontier of the untamed faerie worlds -- a land that no mortal man can survive. He needs Lincoln to escort him to the Winter Queen through hostile territory riddled by killer unicorns, doppelgangers, and false prophets. No big deal.

Lincoln Marshall once conquered Hell. He's certain he can conquer the Middle Worlds too -- and if he can't, he's happy to die trying.
Thoughts on Lonesome Paladin: Helloooo, Lincoln. I didn't know I missed him until I started reading his book. Because, man, he's messed up something fierce. Considering it's only been a month-ish since Genesis, the messed up thing is totally understandable. Buuuuuut, he was kinda messed up before Genesis and things have only gotten worse for the poor guy.

And by "worse," I mean he'd actively picking fights with anyone and everyone and he doesn't really care whether he lives or dies.

Then Cesar crosses his path. THINGS HAPPEN and suddenly Lincoln has a purpose again. It might be only short term, but, the way I see it, he's one of those guys who needs something to do or bad things happen around him. Mostly because he instigates those bad things, but let's not dwell on that, shall we? Idle hands and all that, blah, blah, blah.

I'm really digging this look into both Lincoln and Cesar before they've reached their final evolution. Or whatever you want to call it. This is them before they're them again and that's kinda neat. I like seeing how they went from one thing (in Cesar's case, a magically allergic witch who wasn't all that good at witchery) to another (still Cesar, a sexy, sexy creature of glitter and light) (I might be exaggerating a wee bit) (just a little, though). Plus, there's the whole thing where OPA is stepping in to fill the void Genesis caused in the infrastructure of EVERYTHING and I've kinda lost my train of thought now.

The point I'm trying to make is Lincoln's story is fascinating. Because the Lincoln we knew before and the Lincoln we knew after have two very different mindsets and I'm excited to see him change.

FINAL EVOLUTION ACTIVATED!

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Combat Support by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Combat Support by Lindsay Buroker
Combat Support (Sky Full of Stars #3.5) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Orphans in the Black anthology
Date read: June 28, 2017

Sky Full of Stars
0.5. Smuggler Ship
1. The Rogue Prince
2. Angle of Truth
3. Stolen Legacy
3.5. Combat SupportKindle

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After escaping from the medical research facility where she was isolated and experimented on for years, Masika has found a place among the crew of the Snapper. She likes the people, and she's finally doing something useful with her genetically engineered muscles. But her past hasn't forgotten about her, and when bounty hunters show up, she must worry not only about her own fate, but about that of her new friends as well.
Thoughts on Combat Support: Oh, man. I enjoyed seeing Masika's take on the different individuals aboard the Snapper. She's so matter of fact about her observations that I got a giggle out of it. Thorian's a brooder. Jelena's perky and most definitely NOT a brooder. Erick is...well, that's where things bog down a little. Because Erick is interested in Masika and Masika is still working on healing the wounds her attack left of her. Mentally, not physically. She's a little gun shy, you know.

And she's DETERMINED to be self-reliant when it comes to taking care of herself.

Maybe this is wishful thinking on my part, but I think Erick might finally be making a dent (a tiny, tiny dent) in the armor Masika has coated herself with.

Metaphorical armor, not real armor. Because that would be weird.

Anywho. Fast paced danger, witty quips (for the most part), and a few explosions. I'M IN!