Thursday, July 27, 2017

Killer Mate by Ella Drake [Review]

 Killer Mate by Ella Drake
Killer Mate (Space Grit #5) by Ella Drake
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 1, 2017

Space Grit
1. Black Ice Heart
2. Kilt in Space
3. Freeker
4. Willing Skin
5. Killer MateKindle
6. Wellington's Surprise

Ella Drake
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Tee Bronson doesn't trust outsiders. Never has. Now the Scoriah are on the run from the Nex, a secretive black-ops unit, and trust isn't even in his vocabulary. Except he needs help to board a military vessel to free one of his brothers. The only human in the universe that he's sure isn't Nex is Malweather Hunter, his former lover. Problem is, last time Tee saw Mal, he killed him.

If there's one thing a former bounty hunting cyborg should avoid, it's the alien who turned him inside out, left him for dead, and ruined his career. Even reminded that he's homeless, broke, and bitter, Mal can't resist the reason for it all. Tee makes his cold body run hot. Besides, if anyone's going to kill Tee, it's going to be him. The Nex will just have to wait their turn to get their hands on his lover's enticing neck.
Thoughts on Killer Mate: Those Scoriah are such rough dudes. I LOVE IT. Well, mostly I love how they find mates who complement their roughness and are able to fight beside them. They're all a little bloodthirsty and it's GLORIOUS.

But let's talk about Tee. Tee who can't stop thinking about the cyborg he spent a night with and then killed to save his family. Tee who can't stop thinking about how his choices mean he will never be able to procreate to add to the family. And it makes Tee a little snarlier and more surly than normal.

Then he finds out Mal is alive and all those emotions he'd repressed for the sake of his family (and since he thought the guy was dead) surge up and things take a turn. Because, you know, they were going on what amounted to a suicide mission to save his formerly dead brother and if there was one thing Mal was good at it was completing a mission.

Things are a little complicated with these two.

Still liking the couples we've met before. Still liking how dangerous the situation the Scoriah are caught up in is. I'm very curious how things are going to turn out in the end.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Found at the Bookstore by Christi Snow [Review]

 Found at the Bookstore by Christi Snow
Found at the Bookstore (Found #2) by Christi Snow
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: July 3, 2017

Found
1. Found at the Library
2. Found at the Bookstore - Kindle

Christi Snow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After suffering a traumatic brain injury the final football game his senior year in high school, Ryder Garrett’s life was never normal again. Most days he’s happy when he can remember the way home. There’s no room in his life for romance or love, which means he’s destined to die a virgin.

Stig Minton doesn’t remember what virginity felt like. Twelve years older than Ryder, he’s been around the block too many times to count and has the scars to prove it...both physically and mentally.

But as these two men come together to help with a wedding, they forge a friendship, a friendship they both desperately need. As their relationship evolves, feelings go deeper. But is it stupid to risk this new—and, yes necessary—bond in pursuit of something that’s doomed to fail?

They both think they’re too broken to make this work. But what if they’re wrong?

Two broken souls may just be able to find reparation in one another.
Thoughts on Found at the Bookstore: Two things: This cover makes me a little swoony and this book is SO GOOD. I liked Tommy and Mac from book 1, but I absolutely ADORED Ryder and Stig. They were just both so...closed off. Kinda broken. A little messed up. Well, a lot messed up, really. But their jagged edges complemented each other.

It worked so well for me.

*gives myself a moment*

Okay. So. Ryder's issues are more on the physical end of things. His memory problems when he has an episode and his body not working the way he needs it to have taken a toll on him. Most of the time he has a handle on things, but he's also closed himself off because of his injury. He works, he does his (kinda scary) art thing, and he stays in his house. Stig gives him a reason to put himself out there. It does take him a while to get to the point where he's comfortable accepting the attraction between them, but once he does, all bets are off.

Then there's Stig. The guy is... heartbroken, for lack of a better word. Not because he lost Mac or anything, but more because he needs...I don't know how to put it. Like, his head has resigned himself to being alone, but his heart hasn't quite caught up to that. He's in a rough place and Ryder *needing* his friendship is huge. Then things go beyond friendship and he's doubting himself all over again.

Poor guy.

On top of all the glorious emotions, there's also a teeny, tiny bit of danger the guys find themselves tangled up in. Well, Stig finds himself. He tries to keep Ryder out of it, but THINGS HAPPEN.

I'm just going to say I really liked this book. A lot. A LOT, A LOT. It has a smokin' hot cover and a romance that pleased me on many levels. *slow thumbs up*

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Stay Close by Alexa Riley [Review]

 Stay Close by Alexa Riley
Stay Close (For You #1) by Alexa Riley
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: July 3, 2017

For You
1. Stay CloseKindle

Alexa Riley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A former Russian mafia soldier is hired to protect a friend’s young daughter, but he knows he’ll do more than keep her safe–he’ll make her his. Forever.

If she were to simply whisper my name, I would be at her feet, begging to touch what I shouldn’t, taste what doesn’t belong to me, run my hands along the sweet innocence she taunts me with.

Penelope Justice is eighteen, old enough to graduate high school but—according to her parents—not old enough to live without 24/7 security. Practice has made her an expert at ditching her bodyguards. One look at Ivan and she never wants to run again.

I’ve been hired to protect her.

I can’t help but think that perhaps someone should have protected her from me.

Ivan steals the breath right out of her lungs, something no boy has ever done. Then again, he’s far from a boy. This man, this man who looks like he could kill someone with the flick of a wrist, is everything. He is her future.

I can’t let her go and I won’t give her up. I’ve done bad things in my life, and I don’t deserve her. But I can’t do the honorable thing.

I’ve never been noble, and I’m not starting now
Thoughts on Stay Close: Things you can expect from an Alexa Riley romance: hard-hitting attraction between our two leads, plenty of sexy times, and a couple so dedicated to one another you might end up feeling a little faint.

Ivan and Penelope certainly tick off all the boxes in this book. Penny might be young, but she knows she and Ivan are meant for one another the first time she lays eyes on him. With his past, Ivan doesn't think he's good enough and tries to stay away. Kinda. Mostly there are a lot of smoldering looks and Ivan's iron-hard control being shredded.

He's it for her and she's it for him and the rest, as they say, is history. Sexy, sexy history. With a side order of explaining to Penny's parents how their romance happened. Let's face it, that's always fun in an awkward, uncomfortable sort of way.

Now I'm imagining all the way's Pandora's going to fall after her declaration that she wasn't going to do that love thing. Yeah, right. Just you wait, Pandora!

Monday, July 24, 2017

Cast in Godfire by S.M. Reine [Review]

 Cast in Godfire by S.M. Reine
Cast in Godfire (Mage Craft #5) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: January 17, 2017

Mage Craft
1. Cast in Angelfire
2. Cast in Hellfire
3. Cast in Faefire
4. Cast in Balefire
5. Cast in GodfireKindle

S.M. Reine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The gods are rallying to take down Marion, their ally and voice in the mortal worlds. She’s gotten her memories back to disastrous results. She’s destroying the faerie courts, and the rest of the universe is next. The other deities want Seth—also known as the God of Death—to stop Marion before she breaks something that can’t be fixed.

Unfortunately, when Marion looks at Seth with those eyes and insists that she’s not doing anything wrong, he wants to believe her. Marion claims she isn’t trying to rewrite history. She’s protecting it.

Seth wants to trust Marion. It’s only the universe that’s at stake, after all. And some women are worth shattering worlds over…
Thoughts on Cast in Godfire: Holy wow, this series had some REALLY big things happen during it. In the sense that if I met Marion in a dark alley, I'd run screaming in the other direction because THINGS HAPPEN when she's around. War and bloodshed and beheadings and trying to end the world as everyone knows it.

Marion's a complicated lady.

Dangerous, too. But let's not put labels on the woman who fell in love with Death and had so many plans in motion that no one knew whether she was coming or going.

Speaking of Seth, I spent the bulk of this book wondering if his trust in Marion was misplaced. I SO wanted it to turn out all right because Seth deserved a happily ever after. But I didn't know, man. I didn't know.

Also, Konig can suck it. I feel no pity for the guy. He orchestrated some very bad events and he continually saw himself as entitled to the things he was taking. I can't recall the last time I disliked a character as thoroughly as I disliked him. In the love to hate sort of way, of course.

I'm sad to see this series end, but it ended SO well. Plenty of danger and heartache and resolution for everyone. *thumbs up*

Sunday, July 23, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (07/23/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [42]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, July 28th to Sunday, July 30th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, July 21, 2017

Spellbinder by Thea Harrison [Review]

 Spellbinder by Thea Harrison
Spellbinder (Moonshadow #2) by Thea Harrison
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 14, 2017

Moonshadow (part of the Elder Races World)
1. Moonshadow
2. SpellbinderKindle
3. Lionheart

Thea Harrison
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Kidnapped while on tour, musician Sidonie Martel is transported to the mystical land of Avalon. A human without magical ability, she is completely vulnerable to the deadly forces surrounding her.

When she defies her captors and refuses to share her music, an act of violent cruelty leaves her broken, her ability to play silenced, maybe forever. Her only hope is a whisper in the dark, gentle hands that offer healing, and a man who refuses to show her his face yet who offers advice she dare not ignore.

One of the most feared and powerful sorcerers in history, Morgan le Fae serves a Queen he despises, Isabeau of the Light Court. Once a famous bard and an advisor to kings, Morgan has been enslaved to Isabeau for hundreds of years, acting as enforcer and the commander of her deadly Hounds.

Sidonie’s music touches Morgan in places he had abandoned centuries ago, and her fiery spirit resurrects feelings he had believed long dead. For Sidonie, trapped in captivity, passion offers a comfort she cannot resist.

But Isabeau holds Morgan bound in magical chains that only Death can break. And in the court of a cruel, jealous Queen, the only thing that burns hotter than love is revenge…
Thoughts on Spellbinder: Diving into a new Elder Races novel always reminds me how very much I love this series. I adore how the mythology has expanded beyond the US Wyr and I get a kick out of the twisted politics of the Dark and Light Fae courts.

Did I say twisted? Because Isabeau's lust to be perceived as the best, the most beautiful, the greatest power in her land is messed up. She's arrogant and cruel and she's messing with forces even she can barely comprehend.

And Morgan hates her. Every act of cruelty, every time she goes off the rails and rants and raves only deepens his hatred. What she does to Sidonie is the last straw for Morgan. BUT...with the Queen's chains still binding him, he's not able to do much to help Sid. It's a terrible place for him to be in and he can't see a way out.

Sid's quick mind and almost obsessive nature gives Morgan options he didn't have before. Her ability to work things out and take leaps of faith pushes him. And they are sweetly fantastic together. While trusting Morgan seems like a bad idea on the surface (and given what we know about the Queen's ability to control him), Sid does just that. She trusts him and opens up a world of possibilities for them.

I'm still in love with this world and I was tickled to see a familiar face pop up. Things are in motion and I CAN'T WAIT to see where the next adventure takes us.