Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Justice Calling by Annie Bellet [Review]

 Justice Calling by Annie Bellet
Justice Calling (The Twenty-Sided Sorceress #1) by Annie Bellet
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 7, 2017

The Twenty-Sided Sorceress
1. Justice Calling - Paperback | Kindle
2. Murder of Crows
3. Pack of Lies
4. Hunting Season
5. Heartache
6. Thicker Than Blood
7. Magic to the Bone
7.5. Harper's Tale: Tribes
8. Dungeon Crawl

Annie Bellet
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.
Thoughts on Justice Calling: Helllllo, Jade Crow. You're ten kinds of messed up, aren't you? Stuck between running and hiding and not sure if anything you're doing is keeping you safe. Not a fun way to live.

It's even worse when you make connections and start to worry about the friends you could be putting in danger. Then something terrible happens and your choices come down to using your magic and potentially outing yourself to a very bad person or letting innocent people die.

Throw in a sexy, perceptive enforcer who make Jade's thoughts go to delightfully naughty places and things fall into place. She can continue to run and hide and never have the chance to really live or she can make a stand. Not that the stand came in this book. But it's coming. IT'S COMING. Because good guys don't let innocent people die, do they?

I have the next two books in this series. I'm pretty sure I'm going to need to pick up all of them because I like Jade and her issues. And her friends. And the hunky Justice.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Vanguard by Ann Aguirre [Review]

 Vanguard by Ann Aguirre
Vanguard (Razorland #4) by Ann Aguirre
Format: ebook
Source: provided through Netgalley
Date read: August 1, 2017

Razorland
0.5. Foundation
1. Enclave
1.5. Endurance
2. Outpost
3. Horde
4. VanguardHardcover | Kindle

Ann Aguirre
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The Razorland saga continues. Since the war ended, Tegan has dreamed of an epic journey, so when she has the opportunity to sign on as ship's doctor, she can't wait. It's past time to chart her course. Millie Faraday, the kindest girl in the free territories, also yearns to outrun her reputation, and warrior-poet James Morrow would follow Tegan to the ends of the earth.

Their company seems set, but fate brings one more to their number. Tegan will battle incredible odds while aiding Szarok, the Uroch vanguard, who has ventured forth to save his people. Szarok is strange and beautiful, like a flower that blooms only in the dark. She shouldn't allow him close, as such a relationship is both alien and forbidden. But through stormy seas and strange lands, she will become stronger than she ever knew.
Thoughts on Vanguard: Holy wow, this book rocked my socks off. I ADORED the slow relationship Tegan and Szarok built over the course of their journey. They go from tolerating one another to forming bonds of friendship to something more. It was lovely and sweet and perfect. Their every interaction made me want more for them. They're both guarded and prickly and watching them lower their walls around one another made a very happy reader.

Tegan and Szarok aren't the only two who grow, either. James is smitten with Tegan whereas she loves him, but as a friend. It takes a while and a lot of heartache before James can come to terms with that. Millie is the kindest, sunniest girl any of them have ever met and she steps in and picks up the slack when things take a bad turn for the group. They all grow into themselves in different ways on this journey and it's pretty fantastic.

Speaking of being smitten (we were speaking of being smitten in there somewhere, weren't we?), I am SO IN LOVE with the bits and pieces of the old world the group comes across at various points. I'm a sucker for the idea of a new world rising up from the ashes of the old and this was executed perfectly. The cities and technology might have died when things went bad, but there are still remnants to be found and that makes me weirdly giddy.

Bottom line: We're given a story of dangerous adventure, love, and finding yourself when things seem to be at their worst set against the backdrop of a world that's been devastated by loss and survival of the fittest. At it's core, this is a love story between two people who overcome some pretty big odds to find happiness and I absolutely LOVED it.

Monday, August 21, 2017

(Dis)content by Melissa Haag [Review]

 (Dis)content by Melissa Haag
(Dis)content (Judgement of the Six #5) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 23, 2017

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)contentPaperback | Kindle
6. (Sur)real

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure
3. Luke's Dream
4. Thomas' Heart
5. Carlos' Peace

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I hate. I thought I hated before the letter, before the werewolves, but now I understand that was nothing more than a chip on my shoulder. The urbat took what was mine. They will pay.

Isabelle leads a very normal life...for an emotional syphon. If not for Ethan and his bar, she would have lost her sanity long ago. But everything changes with the crash of her fighting cage and a man who transforms into a wolf. There’s something about Carlos—when he’s not growling at her—that makes her do things she wouldn’t normally do, like sigh and daydream.

Attraction aside, she is faced with the very real evidence that werewolves and urbat exist, and the urbat are after her. And the only way she can keep Ethan safe is to join with the werewolves and Carlos. It’s a race against time to stop a war, fight for love, and find the last Judgement.
Thoughts on (Dis)content: As the end of this series grows closer and closer, I have NO IDEA how things are going to eventually play out. I mean, I'm going to guess things end up well for our heroes, but HOW they get to that point is poking me with a stick something fierce.

So. Isabelle and Carlos. She sucks emotions out of people and had to get physical to release the effects of being a syphon. He's...well, we still don't know much about him. Carlos is our mystery. Intensely controlled, he's Isabelle's haven when things get too rough.

Buuuut it takes a while to get to that point. Because when you're a woman who can steal aggression and anger and fear and love, it takes time to earn your trust. It's only Isabelle is taken to the edge of her abilities that she goes all in with the wolves and the Judgements anyway.

Let me tell you, the edge is pretty intense. Heck, Isabelle is pretty intense. Carlos is an excellent foil for her and I'm ITCHING to get all of his story. I want to see what's in his head. Deep waters and all that.

Only one Judgement left. I can't wait!

Sunday, August 20, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (08/20/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, August 19, 2017

Bout of Books 20 Starting Line

 Bout of Books 20
Bout of Books 20 is here! Check out the Bout of Books blog to see the ins and outs of what to expect from this read-a-thon. Reminders for the daily challenges (if you wish to participate), Twitter chats, etc will be posted to keep you in the loop. Now, let's get our read on!

Time Devoted to Reading
I will be dedicating the entire week to reading.

My Goals
  • Read
  • Have fun!
  • Don't stress
Books to Read
  • Review requests:
    • Can't Let Go by Gena Showalter
    • Winter's Fury by C.E. Martin
    • How to Save an Undead Life by Hailey Edwards - READ
  • Random reads
    • After We Fall by Melanie Harlow - READ & REVIEWED
    • Hate to Want You by Alisha Rai
    • Rocky Mountain Freedom by Vivian Arend
    • Dragon Actually by G.A. Aiken - READ & REVIEWED
    • Chains and Flames by G.A. Aiken - READ
    • A Tale of Two Dragons by G.A. Aiken - READ
    • The Phoenix Warrior by Ella Drake
    • Steadfast by Sarina Bowen - READ
  • Rereads
    • Lover Avenged by J.R. Ward - READ, NO REVIEW
    • Lover Mine by J.R. Ward
Updates

8/21
Number of books I’ve read today: 3
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Books read: How to Save an Undead Life, Dragon Actually, After We Fall
Today #insixwords: Day one is in the bag!
Things I learned on Twitter: I ALWAYS forget just how crazy fast those chats move until I'm in the middle of one. HOO-BOY! SO MANY TWEETS! *thumbs up all around*
Final Tally: One almost-broken necromancer, one family of surly dragons, one wounded man

8/22
Number of books I’ve read today: 2
Total number of books I’ve read: 5
Books read: Chains and Flames, A Tale of Two Dragons
Today #insixwords: There's a whole lotta dragons here!
Things I learned on Twitter: Today was a non-social media day for the most part. Sometimes you need those.
Final Tally: One lusty couple and one royal betrayal

8/23
Number of books I’ve read today: 2
Total number of books I’ve read: 7
Books read: Steadfast, Lover Avenged
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally: One determined ex-con, one sex-ay vampire

8/24
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/25
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/26
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/27
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

Final Thoughts:

Friday, August 18, 2017

Thomas' Heart by Melissa Haag [Review]

 Thomas' Heart by Melissa Haag
Thomas' Heart (Judgement of the Six Companion Series #4) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 6, 2017

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)content

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure
3. Luke's Dream
4. Thomas' HeartPaperback | Kindle
5. Carlos' Peace

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Thomas’ race is dying. To protect those left, the Elders create a safe haven. However, the safety of their sanctuary is threatened by the cause of their kind’s decline. A human. But, she’s not like the rest; and despite his hatred of humans, Thomas wants her for his own.

When females start dying while trying to reach safety, Thomas realizes it’s no longer just humans who pose a threat, but desperate males. Thomas must secure his place at Charlene’s side as leader of sanctuary, or everything they’ve worked together to build will crumble, and any hope of a future for Thomas’s race will die.
Thoughts on Thomas' Heart: Oh man, Charlene and Thomas. The things that poor girl has to go through before she feels comfortable the man fate has chosen for her. The biting. All that biting. Wolves, man. You can't bare your throat to them for a second or they take it as an invitation.

Okay, maybe that was a slight exaggeration. Thomas figures things out. Eventually. You know, after he gets over his seething hatred of humans and realizes that Charlene's fear is genuine. Considering what a good leader he is, his acceptance of Charlene is what gives the wolves a chance to continue surviving.

Beyond the relationshippy stuff, we get a deeper look into the tragedy of what has been happening to the female wolves. The Urbat are insidious and sly and they're working on plan B before the wolves even know there's a plan A. Or a battle at all, really. Which is very uncool, but those Urbat are kinda jerks like that.

Just a few more books until it all comes to an end. I'm both sad and excited about this.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Luke's Dream by Melissa Haag [Review]

 Luke's Dream by Melissa Haag
Luke's Dream (Judgement of the Six Companion Series #3) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 4, 2017

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)content

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure
3. Luke's DreamPaperback | Kindle
4. Thomas' Heart
5. Carlos' Peace

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Luke’s been kicked in the teeth by fate enough to know: nice guys finish last. He’s done being nice and waiting for his due.

Finding Bethony, another potential Mate, was supposed to be his chance at a true Mate. However, she’s young and afraid and needs time to get to know him first. Bethony has different plans. She’s willing to Claim Luke, but only to stop her terrifying dreams; she’s not interested in love or romance.

The closer the pair get to the Compound, the deeper the danger becomes. Luke isn’t the only wolf looking for Bethi. He must choose between Bethi’s safety and peace of mind, or his dream of finding a true Mate.
Thoughts on Luke's Dream: Goodness, it's been a while since I read a Companion book and I'd forgotten how much I enjoy getting in the heads of the guys and seeing their side of the story. Heck, Luke's reaction to Clay alone was worth the price of admission!

But this book is more than just Luke snarking about Clay. This is about Luke finding the woman he's destined to be with and not knowing how to break through her fear. Honestly, I got her reaction. With everything she's seeing in her dreams, she's terrified of the fate she thinks is set out of her. Good thing Luke isn't the monster she thinks he is, right?

And good thing the women are finally starting to piece things together so they know what they're up against in the coming battle.

I'm determined to get completely caught up soon so I can go back and do a reread to experience it all over again. Just watch me.